Snickers-type Almond Candy bars

My 10-year old stepson’s birthday is coming up and I’ve been looking for food ideas for his party.  I thought it might be kinda cool to make a homemade candy bar.

I found this recipe for Snickers bars and I figured I better try it ahead of time to see if I can make them.  I only had almonds so I made copycat Snickers Almond instead of regular Snickers (I’ll make the regular peanut ones for his birthday though).

In order to stick with the almond version instead of the peanut version, anywhere it said to add peanut butter, I left it out. 

The other thing I changed was I made my own caramel.  For the caramel I used this recipe.  Here’s my caramel cooking…

image

Here’s a picture of my almond nougat…

image

Yum! 
I love regular Snickers bars but sometimes I prefer the almond ones (all depends on my mood I guess).

As soon as the caramel was cooked, I poured it on top of the nougat.  Then, while the caramel was still hot, I poured the second layer of chocolate chips on top.  When they softened, I spread them with a spatula.

image

I just tasted a little sliver off the edge because I couldn’t wait any longer – I had to know if they turned out right… and they’re actually really good!!!  I wouldn’t say they’re exactly like Snickers Almond, but the caramel is a little salty and I love the salty/sweet combination so… It could be BETTER than the original…!?! 

About Natalie

I'm 46 years old, married, have 6 animals (dog, cat, ferret, parrot & two parakeets) and 3 stepchildren (but two are grown). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn from my successes (and failures!).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

