Leftover pie crust

I made a really great pie crust the other day for a chicken pot pie.  It was light and flaky and probably the best one I have ever made!  I always look forward to the pie crust trimmings because there is a potential experiment waiting for me! 

Typically I make the usual cinnamon/sugar roll cookies with my pie crust leftovers but sometimes that’s too boring.  Last time I made cute little muffin size quiches that I thought were really good… However my houseful of men were not all that impressed with them. 

This time I thought I’d make ‘cracker’ type snacks!  So I carefully rolled out the dough and used my heart cookie cutter to make cracker shapes (no, I’ve never seen heart shaped crackers either – but I didn’t have a square cookie cutter and it was either a heart or Christmas shapes and I don’t know about you, but I’m not ready for Christmas YET!).  I tried to get as many as I could out of the first rolling of the dough so I wouldn’t have to roll it out too many times and ruin the butter chunks!  I did have to roll it out a second time but that was OK (to me anyway!).  I melted a little butter and brushed the hearts.  Then I sprinkled each one with toasted sesame seeds and Kosher salt.  I baked them in a preheated (425°) oven and, thinking they wouldn’t take long, I set the timer for 5 minutes.  And then another 5.  And another 5.  I think they ultimately took about 20 minutes!  They didn’t brown much on top but the bottoms were a nice golden brown.

So… I tasted them… And the results are……. Light, flaky, buttery, and BLAND.  Next time I think I will turn them into ‘pocket crackers’ and add a filling between two hearts & crimp them together.  Maybe cheese.  Yum.

image

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

2 responses to “Leftover pie crust

  1. What a great idea! It seems like a waste to throw away leftover pie crust, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

