Potato Skins… Or Twice Baked Potatoes (!?)

Being that today is Sunday and that means football, I decided we should have a football-appropriate snack.  I decided to make Potato Skins.

I don’t usually have regular potatoes because for most things I make, I prefer red potatoes.  So… I decided to try and make Red Potato Skins!  I turned the oven to 425° and prepped my 8 potatoes.  I decided I better coat them in a little oil because I wanted the skin to get a little crispy, not soft.  And I put a little Kosher salt on the skin after that.  They took about 45 minutes to get soft enough.  I let them cool.

Besides the potatoes I had everything on hand – except chives.  Not a problem.  I diced up an onion and caramelized it over low heat in a skillet.  But then I had an inspiration!  I would throw my bacon in with the onions and add a little garlic (why not?) and add it to the soft potato mixture! 

When the potatoes were cooled, I halved them and scooped the innards out and put it in a bowl.  Not real appetizing.  Kinda dry looking.  So I melted some butter (half a stick) and added it.  Better… But it needed something else.  Milk!  And salt and pepper!  Hmmm!  Now I have mashed potatoes in my bowl!  Did I mean to do that?  Oh well! 

I added my (drained) bacon, onions & garlic and about a cup of shredded cheddar.  I tasted it… Added some more salt.  Tasted again… Pretty good!! 

I loaded my potato skins with my potato mixture and topped them with more cheddar (didn’t measure!) and threw them in the oven at 400° for about 15 minutes. 

The family went nuts over them, everyone REALLY liked them!  But I wonder… Did I make my own version of Potato Skins or did I just make Twice Baked Potatoes??? 

image

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

4 responses to “Potato Skins… Or Twice Baked Potatoes (!?)

  1. You know I use to do the same with potatoes ! They taste really well. Your’s one looks amazing 😉

  2. Whatever you did, it’s hard to go wrong with those ingredients! 🙂

Leave a Reply

