Shepherd’s Pie

I made an unofficial Shepherd’s Pie today.  It’s unofficial because I cheated on a couple of things and I used ground pork instead of beef. 

It kinda looks funny…

image

I think it’s because of the grated carrots I used.  (I tend to make vegetables as small as I can – that way my stepson isn’t bothered by them and actually eats them!) In this instance, however, they’ve given my filling an odd color!

I also used…. (eek!) a can of cream of mushroom soup!  I’ve read that real cooks won’t even dream of using such a thing but I really don’t mind it in some things.  Don’t hate.

I also added a layer of cheese between the meat mixture and the mashed potatoes and I don’t think that’s ‘allowed’ either.  Haha. I’m such a rebel!

Final confession:  I used INSTANT mashed potatoes for the top!  I know, I know!  But…. I LIKE them! 

Here it is, ready for the oven…

image

(I take a lot of my food pictures outside because the lighting is better – I don’t have an outdoor kitchen or anything cool like that!)

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

2 responses to “Shepherd’s Pie

  1. I think you did a pretty good job. Looks do matter in food, cos you know we eat with our eyes, but taste is what really counts. As long as you and your stepson enjoy it, then I’d say you had a good day in the kitchen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

