Turkey Kielbasa Mac ‘n Cheese

Empty cupboard, empty freezer… What can I make?!

I had one main ingredient I figured I could find something to do with… Kielbasa.  Kielbasa is not a favorite ingredient for me because I just don’t know what the heck to do with it!  The last time I decided to use it, I made skillet kielbasa and potatoes – it was great… but today I didn’t have any potatoes. 

I considered making mac ‘n cheese with it but I wasn’t sure how that would be so I started searching online to see if anyone else tried it.  I found this recipe  Mustard Kielbasa Mac and Cheese.  It sounded good but I only loosely followed it because I didn’t have exactly the same ingredients.  For example, I had Turkey Kielbasa, medium shell pasta, only 2 cups of cheddar cheese, no arugula… and only 1 cup of milk (I used evaporated milk to make up the difference)… So you could say it’s very different from the recipe but still, the recipe was my inspiration!

I love the flavor of the kielbasa when it’s crisped up in the frying pan!  Yum!

I guess it’s a hit – my little guy just asked for seconds! 

image

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

