Potato Soup!

I’ve been wanting to make Potato Soup for a while but when you have temps in the 90’s every day, who’s in the mood for soup?

Luckily we got stormy weather which dropped the temp to the low 80’s for a couple of days!  That’s not actually cold but it did get cool enough for a long sleeved shirt at night and early in the morning… Good enough for me!  Soup here we come!

I made Potato Soup because it’s my favorite and the easiest to ensure a good outcome. 

I started with a mirepoix (onions, carrots, celery all diced small sauted in a little vegetable oil).  I cut my potatoes a little bigger but small enough for a bite (I used red potatoes).  I threw them in the pot with the mirepoix.  Then I added 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of water (normally I would use all chicken broth but I only had 4 cups).  I let that all simmer together while I made a white sauce.  In a saucepan, I melted 4 tablespoons of butter, whisked in 4 tablespoons of flour until it got golden, then whisked in 2 cups of milk and 1 cup of heavy cream (I wanted it to be a little thick so it would thicken the soup a little bit). I added a little salt and pepper until it tasted just right.  I poured this in with the soup.

Now the fun part!  I took about 3/4 of the soup out of the pot and pureed it in the blender & added it back to the pot. 

Now I have Potato Soup!  Delicious in its simplicity!  A lot of people add cheese and bacon but honestly it was so good I didn’t want anything to take away from the potato flavor. 

Everyone devoured it!  I didn’t have a chance to take a picture!  Well I guess that’s OK because I can tell you what it looked like… Yummy Delicious Potato Soup!

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

