Leftover Pie Crust Treats (Or… Pie Crust Bonbons!)

Leftover pie crust makes me happy!  So many possibilities… Should I create something savory or sweet? 

Today sweet won! 

I was thinking all yesterday and last night about what I could make with my leftover pie crust from the chicken pot pie the other day.  I couldn’t think of anything that spoke to me…

And then all of a sudden this morning an idea came to me!

I decided to make little ‘sandwiches’ (like cookie sandwiches) out of the pie crust dough.  I would fill them with frosting.  Yeah!

When I made them, I hadn’t yet figured out my whole plan – that’s why there are sprinkles on them. I don’t know why they don’t look round in the picture… I used the top of my nutmeg bottle so they would all be the same size and shape.  I wanted them to be small, like about an inch wide.

image

I baked them for just 10 minutes @ 400°, which was about perfect.

Then I made a chocolate buttercream frosting to go in the middle.  They looked like little hamburgers!  I wish I’d taken a picture 😦

So they looked really cute and everything but they just didn’t seem finished yet… Then I thought it would be amazing if I dipped them in chocolate!  I didn’t have any chocolate but I did have white ‘chocolate’ chips.  In they went!

image

They’re like little bonbons!  They taste amazing too!  Look at the inside…

image

They’re sweet but not over the top sweet – and light and flaky!  Can you say YUM?!?

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

