Pork Chops and Rice

If it were up to me, I doubt I’d ever buy pork.  It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s that I always overcook it.  I’m so paranoid about undercooked pork.  I have a meat thermometer but when it comes to pork, I don’t trust it (see what I mean about being paranoid?).

Of course my husband loves pork.

When we were at the store the other day, he spotted the pork – and it was even on sale (buy one, get one free!).  Now we have pork.

Today I decided I’d make pork for dinner and since I’m trying not to make dry pork, I thought maybe if I bake it in the oven with rice and something saucy, it’ll be OK.

Here’s how I finally made moist pork chops…

Ingredients (for 4 servings):
4 boneless pork chops (3/4″ thick)
4 cups water
2 cups long grain rice
2 cans cream of mushroom soup
1 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup milk
Salt & Pepper & Paprika (for seasoning)
2 small onions (sliced into rings & then halved)
2 garlic cloves (minced)
Oil (olive, vegetable, canola, sunflower, or any other kind you like)

Make the rice first (bring 4 cups of water to a boil, add rice & salt (1/2 teaspoon or so), reduce heat to low so it’s just simmering. Cover.  After 20 minutes remove from heat.  Don’t stir it after the boil – it has a tendency to not cook thoroughly and you wind up with crunchy pieces.  Yuck!)

While the rice is cooking, start the onions.  Cook them in a pan with a couple tablespoons of oil (your choice) over medium low heat.  They cook slower but they’re good this way.  When they’re all translucent and tender, add the garlic.  Just let the garlic cook for a minute or two and then remove the pan from the heat.  At this point I drained my onions and garlic so I’d get rid of most of the oil. 

In a bowl, whisk together both cans of cream of mushroom soup, the chicken broth & the milk.  Remove about 1/3 of the mixture (to be used later).  Add the cooked rice, onions & garlic and mix all together.  Spread into a greased 9×13 pan.

About now you should preheat the oven to 350°.

On to the pork chops.  Season one side of the pork chops with salt, pepper & paprika.  Bring a pan with oil (your choice) up to medium high heat, then place your pork chops in – seasoned side down.  Now you can season the other side of the pork chops with salt, pepper & paprika. After they cook for 3 minutes, you’ll be able to turn them over (before that they’ll stick).  After you turn them, cook the other side for 2 minutes.

Place the pork chops on top of the rice, like this:
image

Pour the remaining soup mixture over the pork chops.  Cover with foil and place in the preheated 350° oven.  Bake for 45 minutes.  They should be cooked through but check to be sure (145°-160° is the safe temperature range for pork). 
Just make sure your instant-read thermometer actually works!  I almost overcooked my pork because I discovered mine doesn’t work!  My pork was beautifully cooked but my thermometer only registered 120°.  Ugh.
image
image

Enjoy your super delicious moist pork chops and rice!

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

