Pepperoni Calzones

I planned on making pizzas.  I’ve never made pizza at home before but I like making dough so I thought it would be fun to try.  It was a fun idea but after I made the dough, I got scared.  All I kept reading about making pizza was about using a pizza stone – and I don’t have one!  So… I lost my nerve. 

That’s why we had pepperoni calzones and not pepperoni pizza!

I had already made the pizza dough using this pizza dough recipe.  It’s a great recipe!  The dough was beautiful to work with and even more important, tasted amazing!

The calzone filling was easy.  I used a bunch of ricotta cheese (3 cups probably), shredded mozzarella (maybe 1 cup), about 1/2 cup of parmesan, an egg, some fresh chopped parsley and voila, calzone filling!  Oh yeah – I had pepperoni slices so I cut about a ton of them in half and mixed them in with the cheese mixture.

I made 4 large calzones and a side of Traditional Tomato Sauce to dip them in.  I’ve seen where people put the sauce in the calzone before they close it and bake it, but to me, that’s a stuffed pizza – not a calzone like I’m used to. 

I brushed them with an egg wash and baked them at 400° for about 25 minutes.  They were so good! Everyone liked them… Yeah!
image
(I did have trouble getting them to stay sealed but not much leaked out!)
image

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

