Chicken, Broccoli & Cauliflower Casserole

I love casseroles!  Sometimes there’s a lot of prep and washing dishes but I can get it done ahead of time and not spend all night cleaning.  Also, they’re versatile – there are endless combinations of things you can put together.  And, above all they’re comfort food and who doesn’t love a little comfort food?

I have a recipe for a broccoli/cauliflower side dish that I love.  I don’t know where I got it but I suspect my dad gave it to me (where he got it, who knows!).  A while ago I decided I wanted to make it as a main dish.  I had leftover rice in the refrigerator so I threw that in and I added some chicken.  I knew it would be good because the original recipe was good – but it was better than good.  My family (even the youngest who hates broccoli) loved it and devoured it. 

I made it again last night and thought I’d share it.  I can’t take credit for this recipe and I’m sorry I can’t give credit to the original creator!

Here it is, ready to go in the oven:

image

Chicken, Broccoli & Cauliflower Casserole

4 cooked chicken breast halves, cut up
2-3 cups cooked rice
1 large onion, chopped
3 eggs
3/4 cup mayonnaise
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 box of chicken stuffing (I used Stove Top)
Butter or margarine (whatever the stuffing mix requires)
2 cups shredded cheddar
1 head of broccoli (pre-cooked & chopped)
1 head of cauliflower (pre-cooked & chopped)

Note:  if you have pre-cooked chicken and rice and frozen broccoli & cauliflower, this recipe is a breeze!  (I didn’t so I had to do all the prep work.) (It’s so worth it though!)

Put the onion, mayonnaise, eggs & soups into a blender or food processor and puree.

Mix the broccoli, cauliflower & chicken pieces together.  Layer half on the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan.  Spread half the rice on top of the veggies & chicken.  Next goes half the cheese.  Then half the soup mixture.  Repeat all the layers.  Now make the stuffing and sprinkle it across the top.

Bake at 350° for an hour (I had mine in the refrigerator all day so it will undoubtedly take less time if you put it directly in the oven).  It’s done when it’s all hot and bubbly around the edges.

This fed my family of 4 and we had leftovers so you could probably feed 6 with it. 

Close up pics of the deliciousness:

image

image

Yum.  I want more.  Good thing we had leftovers!!

About Natalie

I'm 48 years old, have 4 animals (2 cats, a ferret and a parrot). I haven't always enjoyed cooking but I have time now to do it without rushing so it's more enjoyable and I'm having fun learning new techniques. I want to share what I learn because if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

